Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Deformation of a water droplet in a cilindric pipe with a toluene flow

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,
I'm new in Comsol and I'm trying to solve a problem for an exam. I have a droplet of water placed on the axis of a cilindric pipe, and in the pipe flows toluene. I have to evaluate the deformation with different pressure drops, or imposing different value of the velocity of the toluene.
I have used the following settings:

- model two phase flow, level set
- model 2D axysimmetric
- diameter of the droplet 4 mm
- diameter of the pipe= 30*diameter of the droplet

Here the problems that I found. My professor says that I should observe the deformation in an "infinite pipe" meaning that when the drop leaves the pipe , it should reenter from the bottom and rise up again while the toluene is flowing. And this will go on until the time reaches the final value of the solver ( I have setted range(0, 0.5, 20)). He said that I should impose periodic flow condition for the inlet and outlet boundary, but if I do this the droplet in time does not move, remains on its position and reduce progressively its volume.
Second way: I have applied for inlet a condition of fully developed flow (parabolic), for the outlet Pressure no viscous stress. In this case the professor says that I can observe the droplet while it is moving imposing a condition of moving or sliding wall, to the lateral wall of the pipe. But if I do that the droplet leaves anyway the pipe, let's say that "I can't move with an immaginary camera and follow the drop while it is moving". I don't know if my explanation was good.
Any suggestion about I could solve this problem?