Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Temperature Control Question

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm a relative novice to COMSOL, and am attempting to heat a block to a given setpoint. I'm using the heat source Total Power bit to turn a heater on, then monitoring the max temp of the block on maxop1, turning the power on/off. The heater is 1500W so the logic of 1500*(maxop1(T)<150[degC]) works great. The issue is when maxop1 reaches 150C, the model bogs down as expected to turn the heater on/off at each minimal time step. Is there a way to have it heat to 150C, but allow itself to cool back off to 145C before turning back on, or similar? I'll admit that the PID example went a bit beyond my skill at the moment and was hoping for a simpler logic or syntax based approach.

Many Thanks in advance

8 Replies Last Post Jul 6, 2015, 8:56 a.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 17, 2014, 5:23 a.m. EST
Hi,

Can you try with adding a heaviside function as below:

1500*flc2hs(150-maxop1(T),5)

You can find the meaning of flc2hs in COMSOL manual. The value 5 above is 5 degree Celsius but it is better to remain close to zero such as 1 or 2 degree C, whichever gives you less hassle.

Suresh
Hi, Can you try with adding a heaviside function as below: 1500*flc2hs(150-maxop1(T),5) You can find the meaning of flc2hs in COMSOL manual. The value 5 above is 5 degree Celsius but it is better to remain close to zero such as 1 or 2 degree C, whichever gives you less hassle. Suresh

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 17, 2014, 8:09 a.m. EST
Hello,

I have done a PID heater controller based on the library tutorial PID.