Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

RF module : refractive index

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello dear.
I'm a student of physics. The topic of my thesis is about Optical Filters. I use the COMSOL Multiphysics v. 4.3 for simulation. So I work with RF module.
I have designed an array of Optical Nano Antenna (ONAT) . The ONAT is made of Aluminum. I have two problems:
1) When I want to add Aluminum to the ONAT sample, in Material Contents box > Refractive Index row , the values of Refractive Index and Refractive Index imaginary part is undetermined and I must fill it with a number. But we know the refractive index of Aluminum is different for different wavelengths. What should I do with this problem when I use white light (a spectrum of different frequencies)?
2) The incident light is continuous spectrum from 350 nm to 2300 nm, (like light of sun) but I can't define this wavelength range.
Can you help me?
Thanks in Advance.

(( M. A. Managheb ))
my E-mail address: managheb2014@gmail.com

6 Replies Last Post Jan 13, 2014, 11:03 p.m. EST
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 11, 2014, 4:11 p.m. EST

Ali,

1) all material parameters can be functions, e.g. functions of frequency
2) you can perform a frequency domain study using the frequency range of interest

It is all in the documentation.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Ali, 1) all material parameters can be functions, e.g. functions of frequency 2) you can perform a frequency domain study using the frequency range of interest It is all in the documentation. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser emPhys Physical Technology http://www.emphys.com