Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Calculating of torque

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

I have COMSOL 4.2a and I'm new in COMSOL. I'm simulating in AC/DC module Switched Reluctance Motor and I need to calculate torque of rotor and build plot of torque depending on angle of rotation. In user guide I found only equations how to calculate torque using Maxwell’s stress tensor and any example how to do it. Does someone have an example or user guide how to calculate torque.

Thank you in advance,
Artem

6 Replies Last Post Jul 9, 2017, 12:22 p.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago May 2, 2012, 5:43 a.m. EDT
Hi Artem

You need to add to your model tree a node "Force Calculation" under "Magnetic Fields" and select
the regions you want to compute the torque. Then after solving there is a
global variable for forces and torque.

In the hel look for
AC/DC Module > The Electric Field Interfaces > The Electrostatics Interface
which is applicable also in the magnetic case

Cheers

Jens
Hi Artem You need to add to your model tree a node "Force Calculation" under "Magnetic Fields" and select the regions you want to compute the torque. Then after solving there is a global variable for forces and torque. In the hel look for AC/DC Module > The Electric Field Interfaces > The Electrostatics Interface which is applicable also in the magnetic case Cheers Jens

Posted: 1 decade ago May 3, 2012, 6:49 p.m. EDT
Hi