Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

The Process of doing Hygrothermal simulation of a Crawl Space

Morten Møller Jensen

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello !

My name is Morten and I have a line of questions regarding COMSOL.
First, a small introduction of the project and myself.
For COMSOL related questions se next post.

I am doing my Master thesis at the Technical University of Denmark together with at fellow student. We are both studying Civil engineering with the following areas of expertise: Building physics, energy calculations for saving and optimization, practically application of theory.

Our Master thesis is a study of hygrothermal behavior in crawl spaces and a part of this will be to build a simulation model. Earlier we did our own code (in MATLAB) on a simplified semi 2D model which we calculated the temperature, vapour pressure and hence relative humidity in the crawl space with respect to both, outdoor temperatures, relative air humidity, wind direction and speed, initial soil humidity. We think that COMSOL is the tool we need to make a more detailed model.

COMSOL was recommended to us be our supervision but his knowledge of the program is rater limited. We have only heard of the program before the project but have spent a lot of time reading manuals and doing tutorials on varies problems.

We seek help here on the COMSOL forum to get going. The main goal is to make a strategy from beginning to end which include taking above which physics to apply at what problems. Once this is establish we will use this post to ask how-to-do-help.

/Morten

1 Reply Last Post Apr 27, 2012, 6:55 a.m. EDT
Morten Møller Jensen