Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Particle tracing (3D) on a 2D axial symmetric solution

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm new to COMSOL, but I didn't find any useful hints on this topic so far...

I'm trying to simulate the trajectories of electrons in a magnetic bottle drift tube (static E and B fields, basically a long selenoid with an electric potential inside). The fields are cylindrically symmetric, so I solve them for a 2D axial symmetric geometry - no problem so far.

The problems start when I try to do particle tracing with mass on the solution. The particle tracer doesn't seem to work when a particle crosses the symmetry axis or lies exactly on the axis. A purely 2D-tracing (no axial symmetry) would work for the E-field, but not for the B-field, since the Lorentz force has a perpendicular component to the 2D plane.
Now COMSOL has a nice feature to make 3D plots from 2D axial symmetric solutions, which is "Revolution 2D". Unfortunately, I had to find out that 3D particle tracing doesn't work with this revolved "3D" data set (which is not really documented), so it's only nice for visualizing the fields but is apparently not a "real" 3D solution...

So, is there an elegant way to do "real" particle tracing on the 2D axial symmetric solution without having to solve the fields in 3D (which would take forever with the desired accuracy)? I've read a bit about mapping a 2D solution to a 3D geometry (extrusion model coupling) but I haven't found so far a tutorial or example to do it (all I found was for version 3.5 and not 4.2).

Thanks for any advice on this..

10 Replies Last Post Nov 6, 2013, 11:05 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 29, 2011, 2:06 p.m. EDT
Hi,