Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Inductance and capacitance matrix calculations

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi ALL,

I am trying to calculate the inductance and capacitance matrix of a multi turn coil. I am not sure about how to go about it. Althouh I have read the comsol 4.0a AC/DC document but I cannot get much help from it. If anyone can tell me how to do it with a simple lets say two turn coil example that would be great.

thanks.

Omar

12 Replies Last Post Dec 9, 2011, 1:54 p.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago May 10, 2011, 10:04 a.m. EDT
Hi

I think I have some input regarding the calculation of the inductance that could be of interest. Comsol is quite new for me so I'm not an expert on this, but I have been looking at how to calculate the induction and the mutual induction in coils. I'm working at version 4.1 so I'm not sure what the different between the versions are, but in a 2D-axial symetric model with coil domain the v4.1 will generate the matrix automatically (mef.Lc_1).

If you have to calculate it "manually" you can calculate it by using the simulated voltage drop in the coil by using the formula L=(1/mef.omega)*imag(Vtot_1/I1) (I assume that you simulate it in the frequency domain). You can find an example in my poster dated April 21, 2011 4:07pm.

As you mentioned a method is described in the AC/DC which is the energy method. You will find a good example on this under www.comsol.no/showroom/documentation/model/4329/. I tried this method but the results didn't match the induction matrix calculated automatically by Comsol.

Regards Yngve