Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Two permanent magnets

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to using a FEM software and trying to model two permanent magnets and calculate the force they exert on each other. For this purpose, which module should I use? Also, are there any suggestions that you can give me about the boundary conditions or other things?

Thanks

8 Replies Last Post May 31, 2010, 7:57 a.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 16, 2009, 5:54 p.m. EDT
Hi Onur,
You can use magnetostatics module and get the force by surface stress tensor. You can read the horse shoe magnet exmple which is very similar to your case!
Hi Onur, You can use magnetostatics module and get the force by surface stress tensor. You can read the horse shoe magnet exmple which is very similar to your case!

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 16, 2009, 11:37 p.m. EDT
Hi Merlin,

Thanks a lot for your help. I forgot to add in my post that I want to do the simulation in 3D. But the same module doesn't exist for 3D. I couldn't find a good module for force calculation in 3D.

Thanks!
Hi Merlin, Thanks a lot for your help. I forgot to add in my post that I want to do the simulation in 3D. But the same module doesn't exist for 3D. I couldn't find a good module for force calculation in 3D. Thanks!

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 17, 2009, 5:07 p.m. EDT
Hi

The documentation of V3.5a acdcmodlib.pdf gives you a 3D model of a magnet and a steel block.

There is little difference between 2D and 3D for say, apart that a 2D is so much quicker to mesh and solve. In anycase it's always better to start off in 2D, once you get coherent results then a 3D model is there to check out fully.

Good luck
Ivar