Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

oscillating inlet velocity result

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, i am new to COMSOL and my CFD work too. Hope to have your guidance here.

Currently I start with simulation of fluid flow within an 2D axisymmetric cylinder. I applied boundary conditions:
inlet as pressure=0,
outlet as velocity=0.2m/s with step function;

Then I plot a 1D graph to show the result of inlet velocity (by selecting a point located at cylinder inlet symmetrical axis). However the graph shows that inlet velocity is oscillating like sine waves (green line in attached picture).

May I ask is this caused by numerical problem or it is a genuine phenomena?
Or actually i should plot the inlet velocity by selecting the inlet boundary line instead of a point?

Thank you. Looking forward for your reply and help.

3 Replies Last Post Dec 12, 2011, 12:39 p.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 12, 2011, 10:42 a.m. EST
Abbie,

I would expect to see oscillations when one end of the tube is excited by a step function. It probably acts like a pipe and the frequency you see should some way correspond with the length of the cylinder.

Cheers
Edgar
Abbie, I would expect to see oscillations when one end of the tube is excited by a step function. It probably acts like a pipe and the frequency you see should some way correspond with the length of the cylinder. Cheers Edgar

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 12, 2011, 11:39 a.m. EST
Thanks so much Edgar. Would you mind to explain more why the step function would lead to oscillation?