Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Complex Eigenvalues in general form PDE with no damping

Masoud Ghorbani Moghaddam

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

Hi. I have faced a problem in implementing the eigenvalue study for solving a structure modeled in the General Form PDE interface. I have applied the general Navier equations for modeling the structure. For a simple beam, first I studied the Stationary solution and I validated the results with the same beam modeled in the structural module. Also I checked the Stiffness Matrix, Mass Matrix and ... . Which were exactly same for the stationary solution for both my model (Math module) and the Structural module. When implementing the solution for eigen value study, I found difference between results. It was interesting. What I observed:

1) Complex Eigen Values were obtained while the term of damping "da is 0" in
"ea*(d^2u/dt^2)+da(du/dt)+Nabla.gamma=0

2) Damping matrix was non-zero. (It was really unexpected)

3) The stiffness Matrix had changed for the Math module while not for the structural module comparing to stationary solution.

I appreciate your comment on this issue. How can an equation with no damping term has complex eigenvalues as well as

Regards,
Masoud

4 Replies Last Post Sep 7, 2011, 3:47 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Sep 6, 2011, 4:42 a.m. EDT
Hi

I'm woundering if you are not getting confused between the "Math Eigenvalue" and the "Structural Eigenfrequency" default representations, the former one is complex by default, while the eigenfrequncies are the real representation, check your doc