Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Solved maximum von mises stress too high during large deformation of elestoplastic model

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am fairly new at using Comsol and am trying to simulate the expansion of a stent. My goal is to retrieve the maximum von mises stress and determine if the stent fails or not. I have broken the stent down to look at the expansion of a single link. This has been previously done in Ansys, resulting in a maximum von mises stress of 3.82e8 Pa. Everything I have tried in Comsol, however, results in a von mises stress about a magnitude higher (~5.34e9 Pa). This cannot be the true von mises because it would mean the material fails (ultimate stress is 517 MPa), and experimentally I know this is not the case.

I have looked at the biomedical stent model that is in the model gallery and mimicked it, but the results are still a magnitude too high.

Attached is my file. Does anyone know what I might do to fix my model?

Thanks for your time and help!

Shannon Gott

3 Replies Last Post Apr 7, 2011, 1:58 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 6, 2011, 1:53 a.m. EDT
Hi

there are two things I believe is not optimum: First you use edge loads and not boundary loads, this easily over stresses locally the model, particularly with the very coarse mesh you are using.
Second the forces appear tangent to the surfaces, which might make it slightly tricky to load and for the solver to start